The New Digital Scholar is an Award Winner!

I’m excited to share the news that our book The New Digital Scholar: Exploring and Enriching the Research and Writing Practices of NextGen Students  has earned the Silver Independent Publishers Award (IPPY) in its category, Education (Comment/Theory).

Front cover

Front cover

The IPPYs recognize the work of independent publishers, and for a small press like ours it means a great deal to win one. While I feel honored to have published several Gold and Silver award-winners in recent years, the win for The New Digital Scholar is especially gratifying given the caliber of the work and the people and organizations involved.

First and foremost, ITI is delighted to share the win with Randall McClure and James P. (Jim) Purdy, who conceived and developed this important text, and their fine team of contributors. Our publishing partner, the Association for Information Science & Technology (ASIS&T), shares equally in the recognition as does Samantha Hastings, who enthusiastically supported and skillfully edited The New Digital Scholar for the ASIS&T Monograph Series. Managing Editor Amy Reeve and her staff deserve great credit for their work in turning the manuscript into an award-winning print and digital book.

We believed The New Digital Scholar was something special when we published it last summer, and working with Randall and Jim has been and continues to be a terrific experience. In July we’ll release their follow-up volume, The Next Digital Scholar: A Fresh Approach to the Common Core State Standards in Research and Writing. The new book is generating strong early interest, and given that it’s every bit as outstanding as its predecessor I suspect it will become an award-winner, as well.

As an IPPY winner for The New Digital Scholar, ITI is proud to be in the company of other creative independent publishers who celebrate the passion and wisdom of their authors and reject cookie cutter approaches to book publishing. Thanks, IPPY judges, for recognizing the efforts of our editors and authors!